Posted by: Walt Curtis | March 11, 2011

Goodwill in the Active Voice

Goodwill is the second Anchored Living™ principle that helps us create and maintain a virtual mode in our lives. One especially important characteristic about goodwill is that we must be acting upon it and with it, in order to say that we have it.

If you are acquainted with Christmas music, you probably know the song “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day,” written by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow in 1864. There is more to this song than we hear in the music today, … as there is more to living with goodwill than just saying it.

At times throughout my day, I feel the need to focus my energy towards positivity, so I envision light and goodwill enveloping everyone and what is happening. It is often amazing the effect of something so simple on the people and the situation. Living in southern California, there are frequent opportunities to express goodwill in an active voice during our driving (or is that competition?) on the freeways.

Goodwill is much more than the intention to do good. Intending good and not actually doing it is the way we end up with so much strife in our lives and in the world.

For me, exercising goodwill often clears the way for all of the Anchored Living™ principles to work together. It seems to be a frequent anchor in my daily life, and I am not certain whether this is a comment about the world or about my approach to it.

I would be very interested in your experiences with exercising goodwill.

Leave a Reply

Categories

